The seat of the Bhutanese government, the Thimphu district is a veritable mixture of modernity and tradition. It’s a sprawling capital city where people from all parts of the country live.

With a population of 110,000 people, the district boasts an urban sophistication not seen in other districts of the country. Apart from its many significant temples, dzongs, and monasteries, Thimphu also has other modern attractions like the Parliament house, the National Library, the Convention Hall, and the Heritage Museum, among others.

Among its major landmarks are the Tashichhodzong (which houses the office of His Majesty the King), the Changangkha Lhakhang (built by the illustrious Lama Phajo Drugom Zhigpo), the National Memorial Choeten, the Decehhenphu Monatsery, and the Pangrizampa Lhakhang.

The original ethnic residents of the district are mainly ngalongpas who speak the national language Dzongkha. There are also other ethnic groups like the bjobs. They are the highlanders of Dagala, Lingzhi, Soe, and Naro. The natives of Thimphu grow paddy rice, mushrooms, asparagus, and other cash crops.

In the capital itself, people from all across the country live and work. All major government offices (including the prime minister’s office), corporate headquarters, and other agencies are located in Thimphu.

The city of Thimphu perhaps is one of the fastest growing urban centers in the world. The city is rapidly expanding and hundreds of constructions are going on at any given time of the year. There are modern discotheques and traditional drayangs. There are traditional homes and there are modern five-star hotels.

Through the heart of the city flows the Thimphu River, and by its banks is located the biggest and idyllic park for children and adults. It makes an ideal spot for family picnics and gatherings. His Majesty the King’s modest palace also lies by the bank of the river just below the Tashichhodzong.

Places of Interest: Tashichhodzong, Pangrizampa Lhakhang, Cheri Monastery, Tango Monastery, Changangkha Lhakgang, Wangdue Tse Monastery, Chezig Samtencholing Lhakhang, Dechhenphu Monastery, Dodey Drak Monastery, Tashigang Goenba, Dechenphodrang Lhakhang, Samaringkha Drana Monastery, Samarzingkha Lhakhang, Phajoding Monastery, the National Memorial Choeten, Thadrak Goemba, Dochula Choetens, Gyalyong Tshokhang (Parliament House), National Library, Institute of Zorig Chusum, Drakstho Vocational Institute, Heritage Meusum.